The Panda Blog

Attempts at understanding life

Tpyos

Last week, I wrote about my bad handwriting. Today, I’d like to talk about handwriting’s counterpart on a keyboard, typing. 


As those of you who gchat or text me know, my messages are riddled with typos.  When I actually type more formal documents such as school papers or online messages like this blog post, I (sadly have to) go back and fix all my errors. While I wish that I could type everything correctly the first time, alas, that is not the case (it took me four tries just to get the word “could” the way I wanted it). I’d like to talk about typos today (what an original thesis). Even though everyone makes mistakes from time to time, it seems that I make a disproportionately high number of them while typing on a computer. When I make typos on a virtual keyboard, I can pass that off as “my finger slipped” or “the phone didn’t register my taps,”  but on a computer, I really have no excuse. I know that I can type well, but why do I make so many mistakes? I started using a computer a lot about 4.5 years ago (it feels so much longer), which is plenty of time to master typing. At my best, I can type around 100 words per minute, although usually, I must think while typing, equating to maybe 50 words per minute. Thus, I would say that I am a pretty competent typer. The problem is that for every minute I type, almost 10 seconds is spent pressing the backspace key and rewriting something I’ve already written. But, if I’ve been typing for almost 5 years and still can’t always hit the right keys, what’s my problem? I’ve noticed that when my fingers are cold or when I’m tired, I’m likely to make more mistakes or type slower. When either of the aforementioned ailments befalls me, I can pass off my failure to type well as something caused by an external influence. But when I’m feeling completely normal and I make mistakes, then there may be some problems. It may be because my fingers just don’t like to listen to my brain’s commands, as can be demonstrated by my two years of failure when I played piano. But I don’t seem to have that many problems playing the violin, which calls for a much greater agility of the fingers in my left hand. (I’ve never really noticed it, but just as I was typing that sentence, I realized that I seemed to make more mistakes on the right side of my keyboard, or when my left hand outpaces my right hand and I end up with letters from the left side of my keyboard before letters from the right side when it should be the other way around.) There doesn’t seem to be a problem in my head (although some may disagree), as I still seem to feel, and automatically correct, when I type something wrong even when I’m not looking at my keyboard or my computer screen, which seems to be normal as shown in this article. Maybe there’s a correlation between bad handwriting and bad typing, as they may use the same part of the brain, which would partially explain my failure to communicate very well in these forms (If any of you have any thoughts on this, please comment below). More likely, it would be the part of the brain that pays attention to details being lazy or something. Regardless of why I’m so bad at typing, it’s a real pain (where, I will not say). I sometimes wish there would be a program that analyzes what I’m thinking and then converts it into words on my computer. That would make life so much easier. Eh, I guess I should practice typing so my fingers are more used to pressing keys in a certain order sometime. Hopefully. Maybe. Probably not. Whatever, I’m probably just doomed to fail at typing. Or maybe my keyboard just sucks. Thanks for reading, ~Royal

8 comments on “Tpyos

  1. Jason
    February 8, 2015

    About the thing with your thoughts being projected into a Word document or something, I believe Stephen Hawking actually has a machine that translates his thoughts into a projected voice. But he’s super special because he’s so smart but has that illness condition. But maybe in around 30-40 years??? LOL computers may become obsolete by then 😛

    Like

    • jazzyblazerDaLiuLo
      February 10, 2015

      solid comment j

      Like

    • Max
      February 17, 2015

      Stephen Hawking’s machine doesn’t translate his thoughts for him. Because of his ALS (which, mind you, didn’t kick in until his mid-twenties), he’s only able to move a limited amount of muscles. One of them is parts of his eyes – and thus, because of this ability, Stephen spells out a word by minutely moving his eyes when the cursor on the machine you mentioned scrolls past the letter he wants. Bit by bit, he’s able to spell out a phrase or a sentence in relative coherence.

      (Sorry, I saw Theory of Everything and now am devoted to his cause xD)

      Like

  2. rainbow_bunni118
    February 9, 2015

    Yeah the Stephen Hawking person!!! I remember that dude… Anyway, I agree that you have way too many typos -___- When you mentioned that you type the worst when your fingers are cold or something, the temperature of my hands definitely affects my piano playing accuracy, so like if my hands are cold, then I can even mess up scales ._. I GOT A TYPING SPEED OF 90 WPM FROM THAT TEST!!! SO ACCOMPLISHED~ XD

    Like

    • 420blazer
      February 9, 2015

      Lmao young blood… one is not simply a “competent typer”. 50 wpm is a crime in Kuwait mate!

      Like

  3. ~Jason~
    March 9, 2015

    isn’t stephen hawkings dead

    Like

Join the discussion

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2015 by in Analysis, Request and tagged .
