The Panda Blog

Attempts at understanding life

Royalreter

This little post is about a rather popular topic.


In today’s internet age, one’s online persona is almost a second personality. Thus, the username of an internet user is akin to one’s name in real life. According to this theory, I have practically entitled the name of this post my name, quite a narcissistic action. In general, I wouldn’t make such an egocentric title, but in order to explain the origin story of my username, I thought I would make an exception.

The first account I had under the username Royalreter was an AQ Worlds account I made in second grade. Since then, almost every single account I have made on the internet has been under the username Royalreter, or some form of it. If you happen to find a Royalreter online, chances are it’s me (excluding the trolls that decide to create Royalreter accounts on random websites just because I said that).

Now how did a goofy, dull second grader come up with such an arcane name? Well, as with most ingenuous ideas of young children, it came from the small world I interacted with in my community, more specifically, my school.

During my second grade year, I was obsessed with mysteries. I believe I read all of the existing books in the Nate the Great, Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew, and Cam Jansen series (for the uninitiated: these are all children’s mystery series). I even got a book about crime scenes geared towards a more mature reading audience (it included rather vivid descriptions of crime scenes) that scared me so much that I hid it under a stack of other random books in my house. Needless to say, I was infatuated with finding and solving mysteries, which lead me to start a fateful mystery-solving group that year.

I called the group the “Mystery Ranchers,” as I had just had my first Jolly Rancher the weekend before I started this group. When I announced this name to my team, one of them thought that I had said “Mystery Rangers,” and upon finding out that he had heard incorrectly, started a splinter group and basically split my group into two factions: the elite “Rangers” and the commonplace “Ranchers.” He made himself the leader of the Rangers and assigned me as the leader of the Ranchers, except almost everyone who was a Rancher applied to be a Ranger instead. Just two hours into my first time being a leader and I had already been usurped, lost all remnants of control, and was still as happy as could be (I was a slow child back then).

Me being me, I made everyone in my group choose a code name that started with R, even though only one other person decided to stay as a Rancher. The name my partner chose sounded like “reter” to me (I don’t know if that was the exact name), while I chose the code name “Royal.” This name was a great improvement over my previous self-picked code names, which included the masterfully chosen name of “Macaroni”.

Thus, when I was choosing my first username for AQ Worlds, I tried Royal, but that username had already been taken. Next, I used Reter, but for some odd reason, that had been taken too. At this point, I’m sure the outcome of my next steps is predictable: I tried Royalreter, which workeed, and was able to create my first account. From this time, my username was born, and I have been using it ever since.

Thanks for reading,

~Royal


I hereby bestow upon all members of my fan-base (followers of this blog) an official name: Loyal 1337ers ( 😛 ) Additionally, I am in the process of making this blog more… formal. I will tag all serious posts serious (genius) and leave that tag off if the post is not meant to be important. To ensure high quality posts, the frequency of posts will likely decrease to around one every two weeks. The theme of the blog may also change, depending on how it fits my reworked posts. Please bear with me when these changes occur, thank you for the continuous support!

10 comments on “Royalreter

  1. Amber L.
    April 14, 2015

    “…and was still as happy as could be (I was a slow child back then).” LOL I WAS SO NOT EXPECTING THIS
    also that part about Macaroni had me laughing XD

    Like

    • royalreter
      April 15, 2015

      Yeah let’s just say my intelligence wasn’t… up to par back then 😉

      Like

  2. Max
    April 14, 2015

    Good post about identification online, and the background behind your (moving towards) locally-iconic username. Perhaps the identity of a human being should be a topic of discussion for a future post, as our identities and our presence as individuals remains a major focus of society.

    I’m glad you’re transitioning to a more refined, nuanced blog that reflects a degree of seriousness; while I will miss the light aspect of some of your posts, I think this is a good step to the growth of your blog.

    Good luck, blind dolphin.

    Like

    • royalreter
      April 15, 2015

      Hm I’ll still have rather light-hearted posts here and there, but my serious posts will hopefully be devoid of much trolliness.
      Thanks for the suggestion.
      -_- isn’t siri supposed to say that last line.

      Like

  3. Jason Chen
    April 14, 2015

    Hmm chezbgone. I’ve had many people call me chezbone for some reason. I feel like it’s clear that i meant chez-be-gone (that’s how you pronounce it). Anyways, my (current) username was also from a game (not AQ Worlds though, but i remember playing that). The game is called Transformice, (I still play everyday in lunch because there’s nothing to do .-.) where you basically get cheese repeatedly, but on maps with the help of a shaman.

    My username before that was terrible :P. It was ‘aso159357’, which my current email is reminiscent of. It was basically: take out the first and last letter of my name, and then add a bunch of letters afterwards. However I realized that if you try to say it, it can be misinterpreted as something slightly inappropriate. Hmm that always reminds me how I should switch to another email address :\

    Like

  4. lego.r
    April 15, 2015

    isn’t that very similar to Vsauce’s new video?

    Like

    • royalreter
      April 15, 2015

      Darn Vsauce sniping me everywhere -_-
      I actually started this about a week and a half ago, and have had this idea for even longer.

      Like

  5. chessleoperd
    April 16, 2015

    The nostalgia man, the nostalgia

    Like

  6. Louis Di Aant
    April 20, 2015

    DeathLlama9 –

    In fifth grade, on the bus, we did strange things. For example, we played this weird human pokemon thing and pretended we were online by choosing usernames. I picked “LlamasOfDeath1234” because trololol. I tried to sign up for some random website now lost in the sands of time and “Llamasofdeath1234” was five letters too long. The rest is obvious.

    Like

  7. Siva M
    July 9, 2015

    champion999: ok so i wanted to appear pro, hence champion
    then add some random number, hence 999

    champion999 gg

    lol Loyal Leeters had me laughing for a while

    Like

Join the discussion

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2015 by in Miscellaneous, Requests and tagged , , .
