The Panda Blog

Attempts at understanding life

The Differentiation: A Survivor’s Tale

I’ve never reblogged a post before, but this is simply amazing and is worthy of being the first.

I also partially reblogged this because I want to let you know that I’m still alive, and I sincerely apologize for my lack of posts. I promise to get to writing soon, and will have an original post out at the latest around Thanksgiving.

(If the reception to this is good, I might end up reblogging some more interesting tidbits I read, as although my writing has suffered recently, my reading has not.)

I truly thank you for all of your continued support,
~Royal

Math with Bad Drawings

 

The constant functions perished first.

Everyone began planning a vigil, a sort of funerary service in honor of their memory. I don’t mean spit on anybody’s grave, but let’s be honest about who the constants were: simpletons. They stagnated in time. Never grew, never shrank, never changed. I pity them not so much for their grisly demise as for the bland, purposeless life that had come before. Call me an elitist and an unfeeling snob, but to me, a constant’s existence is no existence at all.

Not that they deserved their fate. Nobody deserves that.

I came for the vigil, of course. (I’m an exponential, not a monster.) I held my tongue and let the lower-order polynomials drain their tears on eulogies. They told anecdotes of the constants’ reliability, their steadfastness. They told self-aggrandizing stories of intersection and tangency, moments when the constants had told, say, a quadratic, something…

View original post 1,194 more words

7 comments on “The Differentiation: A Survivor’s Tale

  1. Jason Chen
    October 28, 2015

    Wow this is really good

    Like

  2. Ann
    October 28, 2015

    Good to know you’re still alive, Royal. I was wondering if I should offer my condolences to your sister for your hypothetical death-from-too-much-school. 😉

    Like

  3. nosaj
    October 28, 2015

    nice!

    Like

  4. Joshua
    November 1, 2015

    Yes, please link to/reblog/collate good pieces you have seen! Frankly, there’s so much good content already, you have to have something really special to share (which you might) or get future value from your own notes (which is why I write) to make it worth the effort.

    Like

Join the discussion

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
