The Panda Blog

Attempts at understanding life

A Lesson in Humility

I’m back! Well, technically, I was never gone, I just wasn’t posting. There will be some rather important announcements in the footnotes, but in the meantime, I hope you’ll enjoy this post 🙂


Recent events have led to a growing sense of disappointment and a lack of confidence in my abilities. I will spare my readers the specifics, but those that know me can probably guess what happened. I’d like to discuss my experiences with this occurrence.

This wasn’t the first time I’ve done worse than I would have wanted to on something of relative importance; in fact, I’ve documented another time this has happened in an earlier post. I do feel as if this event is the one with the largest impact that I’ve performed poorly on, but I thought that the past few times too. Even with a significant amount of research I’ve done that should convince me that it really doesn’t matter, I have been unable to fill the void that’s opened as a result of receiving this news. In recent days, I’ve covered up the emptiness by not dwelling on it too much, but band-aids don’t fix bullet holes.

Despite how displeased I am with my results, I have realized that it might be for the better. The following is a (slightly edited) line from an email I wrote regarding this topic:

It feels like getting an 80% on a presentation I put 110% of myself into. I suppose that such is life.

Such is life indeed.

I’m going to need to understand that life will not always give back exactly what I put in, and that long-term gains can still occur in the face of short-term losses.

I hope that this will serve as a reminder that I’m not perfect and a wake up call intended to encourage me to give my best effort, even if I think I’m well prepared.

I want to close with an excerpt from one of my posts I wrote a while ago:

Life is too short, too valuable, to waste on brooding on things that don’t go my way. It’s time to get up and look forward.

Don’t let your setbacks become the pain of your past, make them the fire that guides your future.

I hope I’ll remember this as I continue in my journey of life.

Thanks for reading,

~Royal

featured image by Trekking Rinjani


Thank you again for making it through this post! If you just skipped down here to read these notes, I guess that’s cool too. As for the “big post” I hinted at in my previous few posts, well, it’s not really going anywhere so I’ll be tabling that idea for now. I feel really bad about that but I’ll finish and publish it when I’m ready.

I just wanted to let you guys know a bit about what’s happening in the future. I don’t really want to write a long intro for this so let’s get to it:

Announcing… Blog Overhaul 2.0!

 I think I talked about this a while ago but I never really got around to doing it. Anyways, I’m planning to update this blog with a new theme, a new title (!!), and a new URL! Of course, I’ll also be writing a new post to detail all these changes. 

Since I’m just changing the address to this current blog, I think my content will still remain and subscribers will receive updates after I get a new URL, but current links to existing posts will no longer be valid. 

I’m super excited for this overhaul and it’s been brewing for a couple months now. The specifics are still a secret (i.e. not fully decided) but I’ll explain more in the next post.

5 comments on “A Lesson in Humility

  1. Amber
    July 15, 2016

    yeahhhh gooo royaallll!!!

    i’m really looking forward to seeing this blog’s new look 😀

    Like

  2. max
    July 15, 2016

    mm loved this post; glad you’re reaching closure

    love you heaps and i’m v excited to see this reinvention move 🙂

    xx

    -max

    Like

  3. Jason
    July 15, 2016

    I think its really great too ^ u ^ yayy go Royal

    Like

  4. Royal Reter Fan Club
    July 17, 2016

    4th comment

    Like

  5. a
    December 5, 2016

    whaddup big roy

    Like

Join the discussion

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2016 by in Emotions, Feelings, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Navigation

